Topic 5: Reflective Summary

This weeks’ topic was, again, a really interesting one. A number of people including Clayton and Agnieszka took the discussion towards Open Access, in particular, Open Education Resources (OER). These discussions were started by the links we were provided and then built upon these. I decided to take my post in a slightly different direction one which was influenced by my experiences of being on this course. Creative Commons has been an important part of this course as the resources we have used and have included in our blogs have been carefully chosen because we needed to be sure that we were allowed to use them. Taking this course has shown me how important Creative Commons licenses are and the benefits they can offer to users (and content creators) and how great it is that they are so user-friendly that I can use them and be clear that I have permission to use the resources I have. In a discussion with Agnieszka on my own post, I considered which content Creative Commons licenses may be appropriate for, in particular whether Creative Commons is the best way for content producers to protect software programming.

With regards to the posts by other people, a number of really interesting points were raised. Both Agnieszka and Clayton, started their posts with definitions, although different ones, of content and open access respectively. Clayton made a really interesting point which linked to his post from Topic 4 about the digital divide. Clayton argued that paywalls to journals have a much more significant impact on poorer countries, the same countries who potentially have the most to gain from access. I wrote about a very different ethical issue for Topic 4 and so it was really interesting to see Clayton’s discussion of an area I had not even considered. Agnieszka made a really interesting point about MOOCs as a great example of OER, another area that I had not considered myself.

Engaging with other people’s posts this week, helped me understand the different types of Open Access and licenses and the different types of content that these licenses can be applied to. These discussions by and with other posters benefited and broadened my understanding of this topic far beyond what I would have had, had I not engaged with other posts in this way.

 

Comments:

https://claytonjones.wordpress.com/2016/05/08/topic-5-open-access-to-online-content/

https://agnieszkagrzesiuk.wordpress.com/2016/05/06/topic-5-making-content-freely-available-online/

Leave a Reply

