Topic 1: Reflective Summary

Screen Shot 2016-02-21 at 13.48.31.png

Following from Agnieszka’s example, I realised that it would be very helpful to put together a figure on my own web usage on the visitor/resident and personal/institutional spectrums. This was something I would never have thought of doing it was a really helpful visual tool for understanding where on the spectrum I lie. For the most part, it confirmed what I guessed which was that where my behaviour lies on the spectrum varies depending on the context in which I am acting. When acting in a personal capacity, I always appear as more of a visitor. When acting in an institutional context my behaviour varies far more, often it is visitor here too but sometimes there are times when it is resident either when doing work for particular university modules or when trying to build a professional profile in order to help me get jobs etc. Miss CEO made a good point which I had not considered which was that it is very common to switch between the two ends of the spectrum depending on context. This suggests that we are aware of the consequences of each and that we may have an implicit understanding of when it is appropriate to be a visitor or a resident. This links closely to The Guardian article Miss CEO came across in her research which discusses the possible situations and consequences of taking down a profile online, for example taking up a job in the future and things that are posted online now being inappropriate. This suggests that we are perhaps increasingly aware of the future consequences of our actions and so make a choice to act as a resident only in a professional or institutional capacity to negate these consequences.

With regards to an educational context of online learning forums Agnieszka’s comment about an alternative but highly relevant typology from Orton-Johnson (2007) about participating in online discussions using the categories of ‘active lurkers’ (the passive majority) and ‘members’ (the active minority) not only links closely to the research I cited on ‘lurkers’ but also to the discussion I introduced about learning literacies and engagement in online studying and MOOC. This research contributed by Agneiszka adds to this interesting side discussion that I think links closely with the work of White and Cornu (2011) and of Harris, Warren, Leah, & Ashleigh, 2010.

I have learned a lot from reading and commenting on the research of other students. Not only has it has also increased the depth of my understanding, it has extended the discussion into areas I would never have thought of and offered contributions of further research to my own ideas.

Links to my comments on other blogs:

https://agnieszkagrzesiuk.wordpress.com/2016/02/14/topic-1-visitors-v-residents/

https://missceospeaks.wordpress.com/2016/02/14/digital-visitors-and-residents/

Leave a Reply

